14
\$\begingroup\$

The description of the College of Valor bard's 6th-level feature Extra Attack says (PHB 2024, p. 67):

You can attack twice instead of once whenever you take the Attack action on you turn.

In addition, you can cast one of your cantrip that has a casting time of an action in place of one of those attacks.

In the "Attack [Action]" section of the rules glossary, the "Moving between Attacks" section states:

If you move on your turn and have a feature, such as Extra Attack, that gives you more than one attack as part of the Attack action, you can use some or all of that movement to move between those attacks.

Say you are a level 6 (or above) College of Valor bard, and can cast Eldritch Blast (e.g. because you have a warlock level). If you replace one of your attacks from the Attack action with the Eldritch Blast cantrip, can you move between each beam attack from Eldritch Blast?

By RAW, I think it's legal. It uses the Attack action and it's more than one attack; therefore, you can move between each beam you shoot when you cast Eldritch Blast like this. But I think this is too strange and doesn't align with the default rules for casting spells. I probably wouldn't allow my players to do this.

\$\endgroup\$

3 Answers 3

12
\$\begingroup\$

No, you can't move between each beam attack

First off, there's no general rule that allows movement between the attacks of a spell. Movement and Position gives you the rules for movement (PHB, Chapter 1: Playing the Game):

On your turn, you can move a distance equal to your Speed or less. Or you can decide not to move.

As for breaking up your move, there's an additional rule, Breaking Up Your Move:

You can break up your move, using some of its movement before and after any action, Bonus Action, or Reaction you take on the same turn. For example, if you have a Speed of 30 feet, you could go 10 feet, take an action, and then go 20 feet.

So it's legit to move before and after your Magic action to cast a spell.

Exceptions to the general rules

As an exception, when you take the Attack action, you have another option:

Moving between Attacks. If you move on your turn and have a feature, such as Extra Attack, that gives you more than one attack as part of the Attack action, you can use some or all of that movement to move between those attacks.

With some features — such as the Eldritch Knight’s War Magic, the College of Valor bard’s Extra Attack, or the Bladesinger’s Extra Attack — you can take advantage of the Moving Between Attacks rule, since you're taking the Attack action, and also cast one of your cantrips1. However, this only applies to movement between those weapon attacks (or your Unarmed Strikes) and your cantrip.

And even so, this is debatable, since the rule says "to move between those attacks", and not all cantrips or spells involve an attack roll.


1For War Magic, it must be a Wizard cantrip.

\$\endgroup\$
1
11
\$\begingroup\$

No, as the Eldritch Blast is instantaneous

Eldritch Blast (p. 267 PHB) when cast at higher character levels shoots multiple beams which require separate attack rolls. However, while the blast allows you to direct these beams against different targets, the Eldritch Blast spell's duration is Instantaneous. This is defined in the spellcasting rules (p. 237) as:

Instantaneous. An instantaneous duration means the spell’s magic appears only for a moment and then disappears.

Because the blast's duration appears only for a moment, then disappears, all the beams happen at the same time, and there is no time to move around between the individual attacks. Mundane movement like walking or jumping obviously takes time, it is not magical, so you have no time to do that between the attack rolls here, even if they are (indirectly) attack rolls made as part of an Attack action.

If you replace one of your attacks in the Attack action with an Eldritch Blast, it however would make sense that you can move between this Eldritch Blast that replaces an attack and other attacks you take within the attack action. (Thanks to @SeriousBri for suggesting this addition).

\$\endgroup\$
2
3
\$\begingroup\$

Usually you cannot move in the middle of a spell. However, the rules under the attack action explicitly state:

If you move on your turn and have a feature, such as Extra Attack, that gives you more than one attack as part of the Attack action, you can use some or all of that movement to move between those attacks.

The Valor feature grants is called Extra Attack (not that important), but it grants more than one attack as part of the Attack action. It both grants a 2nd attack, and the ability to cast a spell. That spell in turn can involve more than 1 attack, granted by the Valor bard feature and it is still part of the attack action.

Breaking it down:

If you move on your turn

Yes, the character is moving.

and have a feature, such as Extra Attack,

Yes, they have a feature such as Extra Attack. Does it have the right properties?

that gives you more than one attack as part of the Attack action,

It lets cast a cantrip; that cantrip in turn gives you 2 or more attacks.

Those attacks are given to you by the Extra Attack feature of the Valor Bard. They occur during the Action[Attack] action.

you can use some or all of that movement to move between those attacks.

so, you can move between them.

You can attack twice instead of once whenever you take the Attack action on you turn.

In addition, you can cast one of your cantrip that has a casting time of an action in place of one of those attacks.

Now, this is a clear corner case, so your specific DM may not allow it. But the wording, plainly read, gives you permission to move between attacks.

The most common objection would be that the attacks are granted indirectly by the feature, not directly, and being "encased" within an "implied" magic action makes them no longer "attacks part of the attack action" but something else.

It would also be more questionable to ask if you could move between an attack and a cantrip that doesn't involve an attack roll; here, you have substituted an attack for a casting of a cantrip with no attack roll. So moving between attacks in this case only works if you permit the substituted cantrip to take the place of an attack in the movement rules.

But I'd allow that movement as well, because really, 5e needs more movement not less.

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Start asking to get answers

Find the answer to your question by asking.

Ask question

Explore related questions

See similar questions with these tags.